Tractor Trials

Well…today started pre dawn with high hopes and much excitement.  It’s now nine pm, the animals are finally all fed and turned in, and we’re falling into bed exhausted and still currently tractor-less. Well, sort of, maybe. Kind of. We left home with a tractor and returned with one less than we left with.

I’ll get into that saga tomorrow. However, seeing as how we were all pretty bummed out at that turn of events, I went to relax in a hot bath and was interrupted by T bringing my phone for an important text message. Which of course, I protested because you don’t interrupt mom’s rare bath time unless you are on fire, bleeding, or Publishers Clearing House is at the door. These are the rules.

See, he’s been watching me battle for two weeks now for some eBay hatching eggs I’ve been lusting after. High end chickens from a line I’d love to own but couldn’t justify the expense until after spring. I set a limit, so I’ve gotten sniped on three consecutive auctions.

So, while I was trying to wash this day off, he was being all sneaky and wonderful. I got a “you won this item” screenshot with this photo.

 

image
Black Copper Marans hatching eggs. (Insert my dreamy sigh here)

 

I am a lucky gal,  tractorless or not. And for once I can honestly say I’m glad my sacred bath time was interrupted. ❤ night all!  Hope your day was wonderful!

Author: The Fun E Farm

We're a family in a tiny map dot called Frankford, DE, on 8 acres. I read waaaay too many homesteading books and articles and my heart's definitely in the right place, although it's not always commensurate with the ages old battle between the ambitions of a mere human versus the time on one's hands and the capabilities they possess. This blog is designed to chronicle our search for sustainability and sanity (which I'm not quite sure we ever possessed to begin with), working with what we have and whatever else we can put our broke-ass hands on. Now the disclaimers: If things that happen on a farm offend you, (i.e. POOP, the use of food animals for (gasp) food, birth, death, hunting, fishing, the occasional use of colorful (to put it politely) language, the participation of tiny humans in all of the above) well, then, suffice it to say, this may not be the place for you to spend any leisure time. This blog is not intended to be an instructional tool on how to do things correctly. More often, I can assure you, it will be more of a shining example of the "stuff we tried that was an epic failure of disastrous and occasionally comedic proportions" variety. If you haven't clicked the little "x" at the top right yet, read on, brave soul! Welcome to our crazy family!

6 thoughts on “Tractor Trials”

    1. Those are Black Copper Marans eggs…They lay in a cycle from that gorgeous chocolate color to a slightly more dark than a regular brown egg. I have wanted them for YEARS. I’m hoping for a good hatch, typically a 50% hatch rate is excellent for shipped eggs, which would give us 6 birds. Fingers crossed!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

